About Indian Potato Assocition

(Registered Society under Indian Societies Registration Act 1860 (Act XXI of 1860)
(Founded in 1974, Reg. No. 206/74)

Indian Potato Association (IPA) was established in 1974, to coincide with the Silver Jubilee of Central Potato Research Institute. The Headquarters of IPA is located at Central Potato Research Institute, Shimla (HP). Late Dr. Mukhtar Singh, the then Director, Central Potato Research Institute conceptualized the idea of formation of Association in order to bring all the potato workers, associated with the cause of potato, under one umbrella. He was also the founder President of the association. Since then, the Association has been nurtured by many a stalwart without whom the Association would not have attained the present heights. For encouraging potato research and development, the Association publishes an internationally renowned Potato Journal.

The year 1999 was a milestone in the history of Association when it organized a Global Conference on Potato at New Delhi to celebrate its 25 Year jointly with Central Potato Research Institute, Shimla that also completed its 50th year. It was a memorable year for it as over 500 delegates including 85 foreign delegates shared their experience and ideas on the potato research and technology. The conference was acclaimed as the best organized conference in recent years both by national and international agencies. It contributed significantly to the knowledge of basic and applied science of potato and helped in reorientation and strengthening of potato research and development. To commemorate the “International Year of the Potato” in 2008, Indian Association organized the Global Potato Conference in New Delhi. The conference was attended by 551 delegates from more than 30 countries including 84 foreign delegates. These conferences were acclaimed as the best organized conferences in both by national and international agencies.

The Association has six zones each of which is headed by a Vice-President and counselled by four councilors. President, Secretary, Joint Secretary, and the Treasurer are all elected from the Headquarter (Shimla), for a two-year term. Director General, Indian Council of Agricultural Research and Secretary, DARE Government of India is the Chief Patron. The Association also has an Editorial Board headed by an Editor–in–Chief.

Indian Potato Association